MEDA 2017 Annual Conference Business Meeting Minutes May 1, 2017 Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay – Cambridge, MD

The meeting was called to order by MEDA Board President Keasha Haythe at 8:00am.

### Minutes:

Keasha invited MEDA Secretary Heather Gramm to present the minutes of the January 2017 business meeting. Heather presented the minutes and asked for approval from the members. Motion by Richard Griffin, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Lisa Webb, and the minutes were approved unanimously.

# **Treasurer's Report:**

MEDA Treasurer Sean Looney provided an overview of MEDA and MEDA Foundation financials. He noted that the organization continues to operate in a sound financial position, and thanked the MEDA staff for their responsible financial stewardship. He stated that full financials are always available for review by members, and he is available for any questions that members may have.

# Membership:

Membership co-chair Danny Thompson submitted 33 names of new members for consideration for membership in MEDA. Danny asked for approval from the members - motion was made and all nominations for membership were approved unanimously. With those new members, MEDA is now at 476 members.

### **Election of Officers:**

Past President Larry Twele presented the 2017-2018 Slate of Officers as follows:

President – Kim Clark, Baltimore Development Corporation Vice-President – Heather Gramm, Frederick County Office of Economic Development Secretary – Danny Thompson, Somerset County Economic Development Treasurer – Sean Looney, Comcast Keasha Haythe – Immediate Past President

He asked for a motion of approval – motion made, it was seconded and the Officers were elected unanimously. He then introduced the remainder of the 2017-2018 Board of Directors to include:

Business Development Co-Chair - Stephen Primosch, Anne Arundel Economic Development Business Development Co-Chair – John Devine, M&T Bank Professional Development Co-Chair – Richard Griffin, City of Frederick Economic Development Professional Development Co-Chair – Lisa Webb, Consultant Awards Committee Co-Chair – John Wasilisin, TEDCO Awards Committee Co-Chair – Brian Darmody, University System of Maryland Membership Co-Chair – Renee Winsky, Leadership Maryland Membership Co-Chair – Merry Mears, Worcester County Economic Development Program Development Co-Chair – Janice Riley, Hagerstown Community College TIC Program Development Co-Chair – Kiesha Haughton, Maryland Women's Business Center Public Policy Committee Co-Chair – Sean Looney, Comcast Finance Director – Bob Brennan, MEDCO

# **Other Business:**

Kim thanked the membership for their support of the new slate of officers, and continued commitment to MEDA. She recognized Greg Cole for his retirement after many years of service with the Maryland Department of Commerce.

The meeting adjourned at 8:35am.