MEDA 2019 Annual Conference Business Meeting Minutes April 29, 2019 Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay – Cambridge, MD

The meeting was called to order by MEDA Board President Kim Clark.

Minutes:

Kim invited MEDA Secretary Danny Thompson to present the minutes of the January 2019 business meeting. Danny presented the minutes and asked for approval from the members. Motion by Sean Looney, 2nd by Renee Winsky, and the minutes were approved unanimously.

Treasurer's Report:

MEDA Treasurer Sean Looney provided an overview of MEDA and MEDA Foundation financials. He noted that the organization continues to operate in a sound financial position, and thanked the MEDA staff for their responsible financial stewardship. He stated that full financials are always available for review by members, and he is available for any questions that members may have.

Membership:

Membership co-chair Renee Winsky submitted 51 names of new members for consideration for membership in MEDA. Renee asked for approval from the members – Richard Griffin motioned, Sean Looney Seconded, all nominations for membership were approved unanimously. With those new members, MEDA is now at 488 members. MEDA membership had a total of 135 new members inducted into membership this year.

Election of Officers:

MEDA Past President Keasha Haythe, presented the 2019-2020 Slate of Officers as follows:
President – Heather Gramm, Frederick County Office of Economic Development
Vice-President – Danny Thompson, Somerset County Economic Development
Secretary – Richard Griffin, CEcD, City of Frederick Economic Development Office
Treasurer – Stephen Primosch, Anne Arundel County Economic Development Corp.
Immediate Past President - Kim Clark, Baltimore Development Corporation

Keasha asked for a motion of approval – motion made, it was seconded and the Officers were elected unanimously. She then thanked the 2018-2019 Board of Directors for serving.

Business Development Co-Chair - Stephen Primosch, Anne Arundel Economic Development Professional Development Co-Chair – Richard Griffin, City of Frederick Economic Development Professional Development Co-Chair – Lisa Webb, Maryland Department of Planning Awards Committee Co-Chair – John Wasilisin, Maryland Saves Awards Committee Co-Chair – Brian Darmody, University System of Maryland Membership Co-Chair – Renee Winsky, Leadership Maryland Membership Co-Chair – Kiesha Hauthton, Maryland Women's Business Center Program Development Co-Chair – Denise Beaver, CEcD, Carroll County Economic Development Program Development Co-Chair – Jerry Sanford, Washington Gas Public Policy Committee Co-Chair & Legislative Liaison – Rhonda Ray, MD Dept of Commerce Public Policy Committee Co-Chair – Sean Looney, Comcast Finance Director – Bob Brennan, MEDCO Kim thanked the Board Members who are stepping down from there positions for their years of dedication to MEDA. Brian Darmody, Keasha Haythe, CEcD, and Sean Looney.

Other Business:

Kim thanked the membership for their support of the new slate of officers, and continued commitment to MEDA. Kim highlighted several items from the year in review and reminded the membership that MEDA's year in review was on our website for further review. The meeting adjourned.