



## MEDA Winter Conference January 9, 2020

## Governor Calvert House, Annapolis, Maryland 2020 LEGISLATIVE OUTLOOK FOR ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Sponsored by:

Maryland Department of Commerce

Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development

Manis Canning & Associates

City of Annapolis Anne Arundel Economic Development Corporation Maryland Chamber of Commerce Special thanks to: BWI Business Partnership, Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay, and TPRG's Maryland With Pride

Public and private sector leaders share their thoughts on economic development-related legislation that will be considered by the Maryland General Assembly during the 2020 session.

8:00 – 9:00 am	REGISTRATION AND CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
9:00 – 9:20 am	WELCOME TO ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY: Introductions: Jerry Walker, President/CEO, Anne Arundel Economic Development Corporation Stephen Rice, Economic Development Manager, City of Annapolis Honorable Steuart Pittman, Anne Arundel County Executive Honorable Gavin Buckley, Mayor of Annapolis
9:20 – 9:35 am	MEDA BUSINESS MEETING President's Welcome – Heather Gramm, CEcD Secretary's Report – Richard Griffin, CEcD Membership Report – Renee Winsky Public Policy Awareness Committee Report – Rhonda Ray
9:35 – 10:35 am	MARYLAND BUSINESS LEADERSHIP REPORT Moderator: Sean M. Looney, Vice President, State Government Affairs, Comcast Donald C. Fry, President/CEO, Greater Baltimore Committee Christine Ross, President/CEO, Maryland Chamber of Commerce Martin Rosendale, CEO, Maryland Tech Council Jack McDougle, President/CEO, Greater Washington Board of Trade
10:35 – 11:00 am	BREAK
11:00 – 12:00 pm	MARYLAND LEGISLATIVE OUTLOOK Moderator: Laurie M. Boyer, CEcD, Economic Development Manager, Division of Fiscal Management, Montgomery County Government Finance Department Honorable Bill Ferguson, Senate President Honorable Adrienne A. Jones, Speaker of the House Honorable J. B. Jennings, Senate Minority Leader

12:00 – 1:00 pm LUNCHEON AND KEYNOTE ADDRESS

KEYNOTE: Kelly Schulz, Secretary, Maryland Department of Commerce

Introduction by: Heather Gramm, CEcD, MEDA President

Honorable Nicholaus R. Kipke, House Minority Leader