

MEDA Business Meeting Minutes May 19, 2020 Online via GoToWebinar

The meeting was called to order by MEDA Board President Heather Gramm at 1:02pm. Heather thanked everyone for attending the virtual meeting. She also thanked the Atlas Group and the Tri-County Council for sponsoring today's Business Meeting.

### Minutes:

Heather invited MEDA Secretary Richard Griffin to present the minutes of the January 2020 business meeting. Richard presented the minutes and asked for approval from the members. There was a motion by Lynne Stein Benzion and second by Laurie Boyer, and the minutes were unanimously approved.

# **Treasurer's Report:**

Stephen Primosch presented the Treasurer's Report. He reviewed the financial statements and indicated that MEDA was in a good financial position.

### Membership:

Membership co-chair Renee Winsky submitted 27 names of new and returning members for consideration for membership in MEDA. With those new members, MEDA is now at 464 members. Renee asked for approval from the members – Merry Mears motioned, Tammi Thomas seconded, all nominations for membership were approved.

## **Election of Officers:**

MEDA Past President Keasha Haythe, presented the 2020-2021 Slate of Officers as follows:

President – Heather Gramm, Maryland Department of Commerce Vice-President – Danny Thompson, Somerset County Economic Development Secretary – Richard Griffin, CEcD, City of Frederick Economic Development Office Treasurer – Stephen Primosch, Anne Arundel County Economic Development Corp. Immediate Past President - Kim Clark, Baltimore Development Corporation

Keasha asked for a motion to approve the Executive Officers. A motion was made by Mike Fisher, and it was seconded by Renee Winsky and the Officers were unanimously elected.

President's appointments for the board members who will be serving for the 2020-2021 period were introduced:

Awards Committee Co-Chair – John Wasilisin, Maryland Saves Awards Committee Co-Chair – Gordon Knox, Duane Morris LLP Business Development Co-Chair – Lucas Cade, FirstEnergy Business Development Co-Chair – Fabian Walters, Miles & Stockbridge

Membership Co-Chair – Renee Winsky, Maryland Leadership

Membership Co-Chair – Ebony Stocks, Prince George's County Economic Development Corporation

Professional Development Co-Chair – Trish Heidenreich, Town of BelAir

Professional Development Co-Chair – Jamie Williams, CEcD, Kent County Economic Development

Program Development Co-Chair – Denise Beaver, CEcD, Carroll County Economic Development

Program Development Co-Chair – Kelly Slagle, Calvert County Department of Economic Development

Public Policy Committee Co-Chair & Legislative Liaison – Rhonda Ray, Maryland Dept. of Commerce

Public Policy Committee Co-Chair – Andrea Mansfield, Manis, Canning & Associates

Finance Director – Bob Brennan, MEDCO

Heather thanked the Board Members who are stepping down from there positions for their years of dedication to MEDA--Darius Irani, Lisa Webb and Kiesha Haughton

### Other Business:

Pam thanked the membership for their support of the new slate of officers, and continued commitment to MEDA especially during this difficult time. She highlighted upcoming MEDA events and indicated the Year in Review will be available in the next few weeks. After the business meeting, MEDA presented its keynote speaker, Anirban Basu, Chairman and CEO of Sage Policy Groups to discuss Maryland's economic status during COVID-19. To hear his full presentation, visit the MEDA website. The meeting adjourned.