

MEDA Spring Conference Looking Ahead: The Next Normal April 27, 2021 Virtual – Zoom

The meeting was called to order by MEDA Board President Heather Gramm at 8:31am. Heather thanked everyone for attending the virtual meeting. She also thanked the Maryland Department of Commerce, Maryland Department of Housing & Community Development and Sheer Partners, Inc for sponsoring the Spring Conference.

Minutes:

Heather invited MEDA Secretary Richard Griffin to present the minutes of the January 2021 business meeting. Richard presented the minutes and asked for approval from the members. There was a motion by Renee Winsky and second by Steve Primosch, and the minutes were unanimously approved.

Treasurer's Report:

Stephen Primosch presented the Treasurer's Report. He reviewed the financial statements and indicated that MEDA was in a good financial position.

Membership:

Membership co-chairs Ebony Stocks and Renee Winsky submitted 16 names of new and returning members for consideration for membership in MEDA. With those new members, MEDA is now at 471 members. Renee asked for approval from the members – Lori Valentine motioned, Andrea Mansfield seconded, all nominations for membership were approved.

Election of Officers:

MEDA Immediate Past President Kim Clark, presented the 2021-2022 Slate of Officers as follows:

President – Danny Thompson, Somerset County Economic Development
Vice-President – Richard Griffin, CEcD, City of Frederick Economic Development Office
Secretary – Denise Beaver, CEcD, Carroll County Department of Economic Development
Treasurer – Stephen Primosch, Anne Arundel County Economic Development Corp.
Immediate Past President - Heather Gramm, Maryland Department of Commerce

Kim asked for a motion to approve the Executive Officers. A motion was made by Renee Winsky, and it was seconded by Laurie Boyer Babb and the Officers were unanimously elected.

President's appointments for the board members who will be serving for the 2021-2022 period were introduced:

Awards Committee Co-Chair – John Wasilisin, Maryland Saves

Awards Committee Co-Chair – Gordon Knox, Duane Morris LLP

Business Development Co-Chair – Lucas Cade, FirstEnergy

Business Development Co-Chair – Fabian Walters, Miles & Stockbridge

Membership Co-Chair – Renee Winsky, Maryland Leadership

Membership Co-Chair – Ebony Stocks, Prince George's County Economic Development Corporation

Professional Development Co-Chair - Trish Heidenreich, Town of BelAir

Professional Development Co-Chair – Jamie Williams, CEcD, Kent County Economic Development

Program Development Co-Chair - Kelly Slagle, Calvert County Department of Economic Development

Program Development Co-Chair – Tammi Thomas, TEDCO

Public Policy Committee Co-Chair - Andrea Mansfield, Manis, Canning & Associates

Public Policy Committee Co-Chair – Lori Valentine, Prince George's County Economic Development Corp.

Finance Director – Bob Brennan, MEDCO

Heather thanked the Board Members who are stepping down from their positions for their many years of dedication to MEDA—Kim Clark, Rhonda Ray and Bob Brennan

Other Business:

Pam thanked the membership for their support of the new slate of officers, and continued commitment to MEDA especially during this difficult year. She highlighted upcoming MEDA events and indicated the Year in Review will be available in the next few weeks.

Meeting adjourned 8:59 am