Notification to MEDA Members:

Proposed Changes to ByLaws and Slate of Officers

The MEDA Executive Committee has moved for approval of a change to the MEDA ByLaws for consideration by the MEDA membership at its April 25, 2022 Business Meeting which will be held during the 2022 MEDA Annual Conference. The purpose of the change is to clarify that any Past President can serve on the Executive Committee and is not limited to the Immediate Past President. This necessary revision needs to be made in 3 places. Bylaws changes must be approved by $\frac{3}{4}$ of the MEDA members present when the motion is made.

<u>Article III, Item 2) Number, Nomination, Election and Term of Office.</u> The number of Directors shall be Sixteen (16) with a minimum of eleven (11) and shall consist of the Executive Committee, which is also referred to as Officers, (President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Immediate Past President) and the Chair of the Committees outlined in Article III, Item 10. Motion to remove the word Immediate before Past President.

<u>Article III, Item 4) Ex-Officio Board Members.</u> The <u>Immediate</u> Past President will serve as a voting member of the Board of Directors and retain a position on the Executive Committee. Additionally, the elected Board of Directors may, by two-thirds (2/3) vote of the Board, authorize additional Ex-Officio Directors. Ex-Officio Directors (other than the immediate Past President) shall be permitted to attend all regular and special meetings of the Board, but shall have no voting rights and shall have no duties or responsibilities other than as may be expressly provided by these By-Laws. **Motion to remove the word Immediate before Past President.**

<u>Article V, Item 1) Executive Committee Composition:</u> There shall be an Executive Committee of the Board consisting of the elected Officers of the Corporation and the immediate Past President, or another Board member as appointed by the President. Motion to remove the word immediate before Past President and to add "or another Board member as appointed by the President".

Additionally, at the Business Meeting, MEDA members will have the opportunity to cast their vote for a Slate of Officers for the 2022/2023 term.

The following slate of officers is being put forward for your consideration, and we ask that anyone who wishes to contest this slate please notify us prior to the vote. **Per our bylaws**, **members vote in the Executive Committee and the President appoints the co-chairs to complete the board of directors. A vote will be taken at the April 25th Business Meeting. Motion to approve the Slate of Officers presented below.**

President: Daniel Thompson (Danny), Director, Somerset County Economic Development

<u>Vice President</u>: Richard Griffin, CEcD, Director, City of Frederick Department of Economic Development

Secretary: Tammi Thomas, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer, TEDCO

Treasurer: Renee Winsky, President and Founder, Bay One Group, LLC

<u>Past President:</u> Laurie Boyer-Babb, CEcD, Director, Montgomery County Economic Development Corporation