

2022 MEDA Annual Conference Business Meeting April 25, 2022 Chesapeake Bay Hyatt Regency

The MEDA Business Meeting was called to order by MEDA Board President Danny Thompson at 8:31am. Danny thanked everyone for attending the meeting – the first in person event in two years.

Minutes: Danny invited MEDA Secretary Denise Beavers, CEcD to present the minutes of the January 2022 business meeting for approval. Denise presented the minutes and asked for approval from the members. There was a motion by Renee Winsky and second by Richard Griffin, and the minutes were unanimously approved.

Treasurer's Report: Stephen Primosch presented the Treasurer's Report. He reviewed the financial statements and indicated that MEDA was in a good financial position.

Membership: Membership co-chairs Ebony Stocks and Renee Winsky submitted the names of new and returning members for consideration of membership in MEDA. With those new members, MEDA now has 500 members. Renee asked for approval from the members. There was a motion by Richard Griffin, CEcD and a second by Steve Primosch, and all nominations for membership were unanimously approved.

Bylaw Change: Keasha Haythe, CEcD provided an overview of the proposed change to the MEDA Bylaws, which were posted on the MEDA website. The change would remove the word "Immediate" before Past President. She asked for approval to make the proposed change in Article III. There was a motion by Reza Jafari and a second by Richard Griffin, CEcD, and the motion was unanimously approved.

Keasha then asked for approval of the proposed changes to the Bylaws in Article V. She asked for approval to remove the word "Immediate" before Past President and to add "or another Board member as appointed by the President." There was a motion by Shelley Gross-Wade and a second by Jamie Williams, CEcD, and the motion was unanimously approved.



Election of Officers: MEDA Past President Keasha Haythe, CEcD, presented the 2022-2023 Slate of Officers as follows:

President – Danny Thompson, Director, Somerset County Economic Development Vice-President – Richard Griffin, CEcD, Director, City of Frederick Department of Economic Development

Secretary – Tammi Thomas, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer, TEDCO Treasurer – Renee Winsky, President and Founder, Bay One Group, LLC Past President – Laurie Boyer-Babb, CEcD, Director Montgomery County Economic Development Corporation

Keasha asked for a motion to approve the slate of Executive Officers. A motion was made by Jamie Williams, CEcD and was seconded by David Fike, and the Executive Officers were unanimously elected.

The business meeting was adjourned at 8:58 a.m.