

2025 MEDA Annual Conference Business Meeting Minutes April 28, 2025 Chesapeake Bay Hyatt Regency

The MEDA Business Meeting was called to order by MEDA Board President Richard Griffin, CEcD at 8:59 a.m. Mr. Griffin thanked everyone for attending the meeting.

Minutes: Mr. Griffin invited MEDA Secretary Kelly Robinson-Slagle to present the minutes of the January 2025 business meeting for approval. Ms. Robinson-Slagle presented the minutes and asked for approval from the members. There was a motion by Renée Winsky and second by Jay Meashey, and the minutes were unanimously approved.

Treasurer's Report: Renée Winsky, Treasurer, presented the Treasurer's Report. She provided a brief overview of the MEDA financial statements and indicated that MEDA was in a good financial position. There were no questions from the members.

Membership: Membership co-chairs Denise Beaver, CEcD and Ebony Stocks. CEcD submitted the names of 77 new and returning members for consideration of membership in MEDA. With those new members, MEDA now has 576 members. Ms. Stocks asked for approval of the new members from the group. There was a motion by Renée Winsky and a second by Jay Meashey, and all nominations for membership were unanimously approved.

Mr. Griffin gave remarks as the outgoing President and recapped MEDA happenings during his tenure. He thanked each committee co-chair, the executive committee and the MEDA team for their efforts and support.

Election of Officers: Danny Thompson, Past President, presented the 2025-2026 Slate of Officers as follows:

President: Tammi Thomas, Chief Development and Marketing Officer, TEDCO

Vice President: Denise Beaver, CEcD, Director, Carroll County Department of Economic Development Secretary: Allison Akers, Senior Director of Marketing & Communications, Vision Technologies Department

Treasurer: Renée Winsky, President and Founder, Bay One Group, LLC

Past President: Richard Griffin, CEcD, Director, City of Frederick Department of Economic Development

Mr. Thompson made a motion to approve the slate of Executive Officers as presented. The motion was seconded by Ms. Robertson-Slagle, and the Executive Officers were unanimously elected.

Mr. Thompson then announced the remaining board members for the 2025-2026 term as follows:

Awards Co-Chairs

Lorin Hinton, Economic Development Manager, Baltimore Gas & Electric Dawn Medley, President and Chief Executive Officer, FSC First

Business Development

Jerry Sanford, Managing Director Business and Economic Development Officer, The Harbor Bank of Maryland

John Stalfort, Principal, Miles & Stockbridge P.C.

Membership

Matt Miller, Executive Director, President, Cumberland Economic Development Corporation Ebony Stocks, Executive Vice President, Prince George's County Economic Development Corporation

Professional Development

Laurie Babb, CEcD, Director of Economic Development, Montgomery County Economic Development Corporation

Jamie Williams, CEcD, Director, Kent County Economic & Tourism Development

Program Development

Lora Brown, Executive Director, Maryland Small Business Development Center Kellie Hinkle, Deputy Director, St. Mary's County Department of Economic Development

Public Policy

Andrea Mansfield, Associate, Manis Canning & Associates Lori Valentine, Vice President of Policy and Public Relations, Prince George's County Economic Development Corporation

Young Leaders

Jennifer LaHatte, Managing Director of Policy, Research, and Government Affairs, Maryland Department of Commerce

Destiny Mitchell, Senior Program Officer, Economic Development, Local Initiatives Support Corporation

Ex Officio Members

Ricardo Benn, Deputy Secretary, Maryland Department of Commerce Julia Glanz, Deputy Secretary, Maryland Department of Housing & Community Development

Ms. Thomas, MEDA President, made welcoming comments and provided an overview of the conference. The business meeting was adjourned at 9:23am.