Professional Development Committee

Professional Development Committee

The MEDA Professional Development Committee assists members in pursuit of their educational goals. The Committee delivers courses enabling members to become Certified Economic Developers (CEcD) and other courses enhancing professional skills. This committee also oversees the delivery of three IEDC courses in Maryland every year, mentors potential certification candidates, and works to include other courses throughout the year.

The Chair of the Professional Development Committee also serves on the Lofton Scholarship Selection Committee (see Lofton Scholarship Fund). Service on this committee is for one year.

Committee Co-Chairs:

  • Trish Heidenreich, CEcD, Director of Economic Development, Town of Bel Air
  • Rosa Cruz, CEcD, Vice President of Communications, Anne Arundel Economic Development Corporation

Committee Members

  • Laurie Babb, CEcD, Director of Economic Development, Montgomery County Economic Development Corporation
  • Jim Chandler, CEcD, Assistant City Administrator and Director, Community & Economic Development, City of Hyattsville
  • Sharon Disque, CEcD, ‎Business Services Coordinator, City of Gaithersburg Office of Economic Development
  • Tamar Osterman, CEcD, Senior Business Development Representative, Maryland Department of Commerce
  • Larry Twele, CEcD, President, Howard County Economic Development Authority
  • Roger Venezia, CEcD, Director of Operations and Special Projects, Maryland Department of Commerce