Public Policy Awareness

MEDA has adopted an effort to promote economic development as a valuable investment for Maryland, its counties, and its municipalities.


The primary mission of the committee will be to make MEDA members aware of public policy issues related to jobs and investment at the state and local levels.  The committee will also work with elected and appointed officials to increase their
understanding of economic development and the impact of public policy on creating and retaining jobs in Maryland.  Finally, the Committee will assist MEDA members with training to become more effective in engaging with elected and appointed officials.

MEDA and The MEDA Foundation, Inc. do not take a position on any bills and do not lobby.  

MEDA Announces $9.17 Return On Investment From Every Dollar Invested in Maryland Economic Development

MEDA has released findings from a recent study indicating that an estimated average of $9.17 in state and local tax revenue is generated for every dollar invested in county economic development operations in Maryland. 

The study, conducted in collaboration with the Business Economic and Community Outreach Network at Salisbury University (BEACON) and MEDA’s Public Policy Committee, utilized annual survey data collected over the past two years from local county economic development offices. The data focused on jobs added or retained, as reported by county economic development offices, and the funding invested by each county to support economic development operations.

A special thank you goes to Eastport Partners and SG Insights for their help with this project.

Read more about the key findings of the Economic Development Awareness Study here.

View the latest press coverage below: