TEDCO Announces New Board Director

Johns Hopkins’ Jennifer Elisseeff

COLUMBIA, Md. (April 13, 2017) – The Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) announced today that Governor Larry Hogan appointed Dr. Jennifer Elisseeff of Johns Hopkins University (JHU) to the Board of Directors.

Dr. Elisseeff is the Morton Goldberg Professor and director of the Translational Tissue Engineering Center at Wilmer Eye Institute and the Department of Biomedical Engineering at JHU. In 2004, Elisseeff cofounded Cartilix, Inc, a startup that translated adhesive and biomaterial technologies for treating orthopedic disease, acquired by Biomet Inc in 2009. Also in that year, she founded Aegeria Soft Tissue, a startup focused on soft tissue regeneration and wound healing. She is a member of the National Academy of Inventors (and advises a number of biotech companies around the country).

“We are pleased to welcome Dr. Elisseeff to TEDCO’s board of directors,” said Newt Fowler, TEDCO Board Chair and business transactions partner of Womble Carlyle, LLP. “Our goal is to provide the support and resources to TEDCO executives, helping them continue to spur economic development and remain as the go-to funding source for Maryland start-up companies. Dr. Elisseeff’s experience and insight not only as a leading researcher but as an entrepreneur involved in many biotech companies located on both the East and West Coasts, will prove an incredible benefit not only to TEDCO but more importantly to our life science companies.”

TEDCO is governed by a board, which is appointed by the Governor for four-year terms with the consent of the Maryland State Senate. Last year, Governor Hogan appointed/reappointed 15 members to TEDCO’s board of directors.

Current TEDCO board of directors are: Chair Newt Fowler, Womble Carlyle, LLP; Vice Chair Francis Smyth, Century Engineering; Secretary Matthew Lee, FASTech; Treasurer Luke Cooper, Fixt; Paul Ausley, Ausley Associates; Chris Brandenburg, Kilkea Charles, LLC; Ray Hoy, Wor-Wic College; Chuck Knudsen, T. Rowe Price; Omar Muhammad, Morgan State University; C. Warren Mullins; Marty Roesch, Cisco/Sourcefire; John Shetrone, Vision Technologies; Amita Shukla, Vitamita; and Michael Gill, Maryland Department of Commerce.

“We welcome Dr. Elisseeff to a dedicated and talented board,” said John Wasilisin, president and chief operating officer of TEDCO. “We look forward to her contributions in fostering TEDCO’s mission to support seed/early-stage innovation and promote entrepreneurship in Maryland.”

TEDCO board members must be residents of the state and represent the nonprofit research sector, venture capital financing, technology-based businesses, the general public and colleges or universities. For the full list of TEDCO’s board of directors, click here.

Leave a Reply