TEDCO Board of Directors Announces New Executive Officers Innovative Thought Leaders

COLUMBIA, Md. (August 25, 2017) – The Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) announced today that its board of directors elected four new Executive Officers. The officers will serve for one year.

“Providing the right tools and resources to Maryland’s entrepreneurs is vital to strengthening our workforce and ensuring that our state is open for business,” said Governor Larry Hogan. “I would like to congratulate the new executive officers of TEDCO as they work to guide Maryland’s growing number of innovators, entrepreneurs, and start-up companies to achieve even greater successes.”

The new TEDCO elected officials are:

  • Chairman – Francis Smyth, CEO, Century Engineering
  • Vice Chairman – Chuck Knudsen, Vice President, T. Rowe Price
  • Treasurer – Paul Ausley, CEO, Ausley Associates
  • Secretary – Matthew Lee, CEO, FASTech

“I’m pleased to serve as the Chair of TEDCO’s trailblazing board of directors,” said Frances Smyth, chief executive officer of Century Engineering. “I have tremendous respect for Chuck, Paul, Matthew and the other board members, and I look forward to working with them. Our goal is to provide the support and direction to TEDCO Management, helping them continue to ignite economic development and remain as the go-to hub of Maryland’s innovation ecosystem.”

TEDCO is governed by a 15-member board, which is appointed by the Governor for four-year terms with the approval of the Maryland State Senate. Earlier this year, Governor Hogan appointed/reappointed 15 board members to TEDCO’s board of directors.

“We welcome the new innovative members and elected Executive Officers,” said George Davis, chief executive officer of TEDCO. “We look forward to the contributions of these diverse thought leaders in fostering TEDCO’s mission to build great companies that stay and last in Maryland.”

TEDCO’s full board of directors are: Chair Francis Smyth, Century Engineering; Vice Chair, Chuck Knudsen, T. Rowe Price; Treasurer, Paul Ausley, Ausley Associates; Secretary Matthew Lee, FASTech; Luke Cooper, Fixt; Jennifer Elisseeff, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Newt Fowler, Womble Carlyle, LLP; Ray Hoy, Wor-Wic Community College; Omar Muhammad, Morgan State University; C. Warren Mullins; John Shetrone, Vision Technologies; Amita Shukla, Vitamita; and Michael Gill, Maryland Department of Commerce.

The Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) is the go-to source for entrepreneurial support and guidance for start-ups and early-stage companies engaged in bringing innovative ideas to market. For over nineteen years, the organization has provided funding, mentoring and networking opportunities to support Maryland’s innovation ecosystem. It is frequently ranked as one of the most active seed/early-stage investors in the nation. The organization plays a key role in bringing research created in Maryland’s educational institutions and federal laboratories into the commercial marketplace. For more information about TEDCO and its programs and resources, visit www.TEDCO.md.


#      #      #

Leave a Reply